Professor Shlomo Havlin: “Network Science and Applications”, March 11th, 2021, 9.30 am CET

Home > Seminars > Professor Shlomo Havlin: “Network Science and Applications”, March 11th, 2021, 9.30 am CET
Loading Events

For a Zoom link please contact:  jennifer.king@durham.ac.uk

Thursday, 11th March, 2021. Online, via Zoom, 8.30 am UTC, 9.30 am CET, 10.30 am EET

Professor Shlomo Havlin “Network Science and Applications”

Department of Physics, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

http://havlin.biu.ac.il/index.php

Network science has been applied in many world-wide systems and processes in different disciplines. These include social systems, physiology, traffic, climate, and epidemics. I will show some examples of how network tools can distinguish between fake news and real news [1] and how switching between topics of scientists affects their scientific impact [2]. I  will also show how network tools can help to better understand and distinguish between deep and light sleep [3], improve urban traffic [4], forecasting climate phenomena [5], and mitigating pandemics [6].

References:

[1] Zilong Zhao et al, EPJ Data Science 9(7), 1 (2020)

[2] An Zeng et al,  Nature Communications, 10, 3439 (2019)

[3] A. Bashan et al, Nature Communications, 3, 702 (2012)

[4]  Daqing Li et al, PNAS 112, 669 (2015); Limiao Zhang et al, PNAS 116, 8673 (2019);

  1. Zeng et al, PNAS 116, 23  (2019)

[5] Gozolchiani et al, PRL 107, 148501 (2012); Ludescher et al, PNAS 110, 11742 (2013)

[6] Cohen et al, PRL 85, 4626 (2000); PRL 86, 3682 (2001);

  1. Liu et al National Science Review 8 (1) nwaa229 (2021)